Tags

, , , ,

7/4/11

Because it was the 4th of July weekend we decided to wait to head for home. Bless Kelly and Krista . . . I’m sure that they are quite tired of having house guests. I have been here for a little over a month and now Dave is here, too. Carol had been here since April. My guess is they are quite ready to have things back to their normal. They have been so gracious and kind while I have been here.

Today we walked to Bar Carlo for lunch with part of the “village.” There were eight of us this time plus a toddler in a stroller. It was a very pleasant walk with much talking and laughter along the way. We decided to eat outside at the picnic tables rather than inside since the weather was so incredibly pleasant. The food was delicious, the conversation even better! After we finished eating and returned home, the ladies decided to go get 4th of July pedicures. What a great way to spend an afternoon!

Most of the “village” decided to go downtown to watch the fireworks. Dave and I were planning to leave a little later but changed our minds and watched a movie instead. Since we had already loaded most of our luggage and boxes into the car, I think Dave probably just wanted to chill before we began the journey home the next day.  

Reflecting on this day, I think Carol would have approved. Time spent with family and friends, laughing and talking, is always time well spent. I wish she would have been there with us . . . . I miss her.

